Building Effective Teams

Read this interesting post the other day on Building Effective Teams – http://www.estherderby.com/2011/11/miss-the-start-miss-the-end.html. An interesting piece that got me thinking about my experiences in People Management and Team Management. This is one of my most favourite parts of my job. It’s not so much that you get to “order people around” or have “power” because you can. For me, it’s all about being able to understand a person, identify their strengths and weaknesses, and help them work towards advancing their career. It’s a push and pull relationship. I learn as much about myself and how I work as my team does from me.

As people move up the Corporate ladder or as a small start-up gets bigger in size and expands, the concept of People Management and Coaching becomes ever so important. As a leader, you’re only as good as those that choose to follow you. So that means working with each individual member of your team – making sure you “listen” and have time for them. Yes, you might think that it’s additional work but that’s how you start to build effective relationships, especially for those that follow you.

I can’t prescribe one way or another what is best. For me, the secret sauce is developing your own style. I’ve been lucky enough to have some great people I have followed in the past. Taking bits and pieces from each person and becoming myself and developing my own style.

Leave a Reply

